Skip to content ↓
The Downs Primary School & Nursery

The Downs Primary School & Nursery

Governors and Trust Board

The Downs Primary School and Nursery is part of the Passmores Cooperative Learning Community (PCLC) Multi Academy Trust (MAT). PCLC is an educational trust which also has responsibility for Passmores Secondary Academy, Potter Primary Street Academy and Purford Green Primary Academy.

Overall responsibility for governance sits with the PCLC Trust Board, while the day-to-day governance of The Downs Primary School and Nursery is devolved to The Downs Local Governing Body (LGB). The LGB works in partnership with the Headteacher and is actively involved in school improvement by agreeing the school priorities, setting targets and monitoring progress and attainment to improve outcomes for all our pupils. The LGB is also responsible for ensuring safeguarding and child protection procedures are in place, are fully compliant, and that these are effective.

Meeting minutes of the PCLC Trust Board and its committees are available on request. 

Please contact the PCLC Governance Manager either by emailing or by writing to Deb Bartram, Potter Street Academy, Carters Mead, Harlow, CM17 9EU

If you are interested in applying to become a governor or would like more information about the role, please contact Deb Bartram by emailing

Additional information about Passmores Co-operative Learning Community can be accessed via the link to the Trust's website:

Our Local Governing Board (LGB)

Demmy Adewole - Community
Shannon Barden - Staff (Non-Teaching)
Mike Barham (Co-Vice Chair)
Rob Calderwood (Headteacher)
Katrina Cowley - (Chair) Parent
Jimmy Georgiou - Community
Neil Gladwin - Trust
Mohammad Islam Ruman - (Co-Vice Chair) Community
Daniel Joyce - Staff (Teaching)
Christopher Maynard - Community
Vacancy - Parent